Kristen Wiig to Recieve Inaugural Mary Tyler Moore Visionary Award |

Kristen Wiig to Recieve Inaugural Mary Tyler Moore Visionary Award

One comedy legend is set to receive an award named for another. On June 6, Kristen Wiig will become the inaugural recipient of the Mary Tyler Moore Visionary Award. Wiig will receive the award in Los Angeles at the Variety TV FYC Fest.

Kristen Wiig’s work as one of this century’s best Saturday Night Live cast members would probably be enough to merit such an award. Yet near the end of her tenure on the show, Wiig co-wrote and starred in the 2011 classic, Bridesmaidsalongside Maya Rudolph and Melissa McCarthy. She received a lead actress Emmy nomination in 2016 for her work in the miniseries, The Spoils of Babylon. She currently stars in the Apple TV+ series Palm Royale. In April, Wiig returned to SNL to great applause.

The award is the outgrowth of a partnership between Variety and the Mary Tyler Moore Vision Initiative, a nonprofit that supports research to restore and preserve vision in people with diabetes. Moore, who died in 2017 at the age of 80, was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes in 1969. Together, the two have launched the “Be a Mary” campaign to raise awareness and support research. 

The Mary Tyler Moore Show aired on CBS from 1970-1977. The sitcom starred Moore as Mary Richards, a news producer in Minneapolis. Through her sitcom, as the New York Times put it, Moore “incarnated the modern woman.” Audiences first came to know Moore on The Dick Van Dyke Show (1961–1966). She received an Academy Award nomination for her work in the 1980 film, Ordinary People, the directorial debut of Robert Redford.

Related articles

PREMIERE: Listen to Bloomsday’s New Single “Virtual Hug”

Today, Bloomsday—the musical project of New York singer-songwriter Iris James Garrison—has released their latest single, “Virtual Hug.” The track follows previous releases “Where I End and You Begin” and “Dollar Slice,” all of which are...

2024 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Inductions Announced: Cher, Dave Matthews Band, A Tribe Called Quest & More to Be Enshrined

Tonight, the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame announced its 2024 inductees. Those voted in include Ozzy Osbourne, Dave Matthews Band, Cher, A Tribe Called Quest and Mary J. Blige, along with Peter Frampton,...

Charly Bliss Announces New Album Forever

Charly Bliss have announced Forever, the band’s first new album in five years. The upcoming LP is set to release on August 16 via Lucky Number Music. Forever features the band’s most vibrant music to date, centering...

Hinds Announce New Album VIVA HINDS

Today, Spanish rockers Hinds have announced their long-awaited fourth LP, VIVA HINDS, a nod to fans greeting the band with exclamations of “¡VIVA HINDS!” before shows. Co-bandleaders Carlotta Cosials and Ana Perrote are christening this new era...

Indie Rock Producer and Musician Steve Albini Dead at 61

Few people made as a big a mark on the last few decades of rock ‘n’ roll as Steve Albini. The producer, musician and all-around provocateur died of a heart attack today at the...

Latest articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here